boomerang wrote:...J_B, I had friends who were kosher and friends who were quasi-kosher (maybe jespah can enlighten me on the proper term for lackidasical kosher eaters). The strict kosher kids had incredibly rigid rules governing their diet. I for the life of me could never remember them all.....
Lackadaisical kosher? We call 'em Unitarians.
![Smile](https://cdn2.able2know.org/images/v5/emoticons/icon_smile.gif)
No, seriously, it just means people aren't as strictly religious. There's no specific name for 'em.
Kosher rules - actually, they aren't too bad, so long as you're talking about every day and not kosher for Passover. That is only 8 days per year, chances are good that you will not be dealing with that.
Birds: only game birds and commercially raised type birds. Think turkey, chicken, quail and goose, duck and pheasant. But birds of prey are out. No eagles, for example.
Land animals: they must have BOTH a cloven hoof and chew their cud. Hence, cows and sheep are fine. Pigs have cloven hooves but don't chew cud, so they're out. Horses are out on both accounts. Venison, beef and lamb are all fine.
Fish: they must have both fins and scales. Hence shellfish are out (no fins, no scales). Therefore, no lobster, no clams, no crabs, no oysters. Scavengers (bottom-feeders) are out unless, ta da, they have both fins and scales. This rules out catfish. There's a debate whether fish with scales for only a portion of their life cycle are okay (sturgeon, swordfish). Check with a rabbi or ask the family what they prefer. Most rabbis, unless very Orthodox, seem to allow these.
Dairy products and fruits, vegetables and grains are all kosher.
Do not mix milk with meat. Fowl are considered meat, fish is not (it's pareve, which is neither milk nor meat). Dairy means all milk products such as cheese, yogurt, cream, ice cream, sour cream and cream cheese. Therefore, no cheeseburgers even if everything else is otherwise kosher.
Meat can be checked for kosher certification on the label, an O with a U in the center is a type of kosher certification, so is a capital K. Certain companies, such as Manischewitz and Hebrew National, make everything kosher. Rabbis do not bless specific items as kosher, rather, they check the entire manufacturing process. They check for cleanliness, they check for how the animals are treated and how they are slaughtered. They check for how healthy the animal was in life and in death, and an otherwise kosher kill can be rejected if the corpse is found to be imperfect. This is above and beyond just assuring that the animals are of the right species. It's actually a pretty helpful thing, making sure that conditions are sanitary and that the animals are not just slaughtered en masse in a factory-like procession. I, personally, see that as respecting the animal and also helping to assure greater health for all. This does not mean that mad cow, etc., are impossible, but I suspect these diseases are a bit less likely to occur because there is a lot more checking.
You won't go wrong with cheese sandwiches, tuna salad, and any salad on the planet so long as it does not have bacon or ham in it and, if it contains chicken or turkey, that the meat is kosher. Cheese or vegetarian pizza is great, so is pasta without meat. Tofu is just fine (it's pareve).
Hope this helps. Next week: kosher for Passover rules and how insane they can get.