0
   

The 7 signal

 
 
Reply Mon 2 Jul, 2012 08:01 am
We needed 180 to meld. It was the second round of play. My partner discarded a seven which to me meant that she had 2 sevens. I discarded my 2 sevens and by the time I picked the pack there were 5 sevens and I thought she had 2 of them. When I laid down the 5 sevens my partner didn't have any. She said she wouldn't keep one in her hand because she needed 180 and a seven wouldn't do her any good. In my regular weekly game this wouldn't be acceptable in this situation. Of course, there are times when a seven could be discarded and not be a signal (avoiding the pack to be picked, 2 cards left, etc). This group I was playing with insisted I was wrong, and that a seven played early in the game should not be construed as a signal.
  • Topic Stats
  • Top Replies
  • Link to this Topic
Type: Question • Score: 0 • Views: 2,720 • Replies: 3

 
Mame
 
  3  
Reply Mon 2 Jul, 2012 10:46 am
@Bbrodowsky,
okay
0 Replies
 
roger
 
  2  
Reply Sat 7 Jul, 2012 01:00 am
@Bbrodowsky,
Signal or no signal probably depends on how long you've been partners.
eframes
 
  1  
Reply Sun 9 Jun, 2013 11:48 am
@roger,
I disagree. You need table rules before you start playing. 7's are dangerous to just discard in order to meld. I've been playing for 8 years and we always signal 7's. It can make or break the game. Same with aces if they're not on the table.
0 Replies
 
 

Related Topics

How to play euchre - Question by ekename
Classic canasta initial meld - Question by Zen100
Ace Question - Question by terri232
Picking up a pile with ace on top - Question by Judyconn
Canasta - Bottom of pack question - Question by terri232
Is card laid a card played? - Question by rstakland
Dangerous Flops In Texas Holdem - Question by jayjoe
Card Trick With Willie - Discussion by edgarblythe
 
  1. Forums
  2. » The 7 signal
Copyright © 2021 MadLab, LLC :: Terms of Service :: Privacy Policy :: Page generated in 0.03 seconds on 04/11/2021 at 01:55:15