7
   

"Kosher for Passover" v. "Kosher"

 
 
Reply Mon 12 Nov, 2012 08:01 pm
Is there a difference?

I was reading an article today about high fructose corn syrup and learned that Coca Cola makes a blend of Coke that is only available (in America) during Passover -- it uses sugar instead of corn syrup since corn isn't "kosher during Passover".

Is corn/corn syrup kosher at other times?

I'm wondering if I could avoid corn syrup by buying kosher products.
 
View best answer, chosen by boomerang
tsarstepan
 
  1  
Reply Mon 12 Nov, 2012 08:21 pm
@boomerang,
Stop buying Coke or Pepsi products. Seriously. In a country where there a few hundred soda makers, we have plenty of options that use cane sugar. It won't be cheap as Coke or Pepsi but still. Do you really need to drink x liters of cheap corn syrup swill per week?
boomerang
 
  2  
Reply Mon 12 Nov, 2012 08:23 pm
@tsarstepan,
I'm not buying Coke or Pepsi. I drink about 5 sodas a year. I'm trying to avoid HFCS and the Coke tidbit came up. I'm wondering about other kosher products.
farmerman
 
  3  
Reply Mon 12 Nov, 2012 09:36 pm
@boomerang,
did they snip the tip off the corn cob


HMMMMMM, lemme see here
(Picks up his plastic wallet size Leviticus)

MAYBE its cause the soda was made by a non- Jew. Cant trust them goyem to do whats right especially for Pasch
0 Replies
 
farmerman
 
  1  
Reply Mon 12 Nov, 2012 09:38 pm
@tsarstepan,
They are making the old fashioned coke with real cane sugar
0 Replies
 
roger
 
  2  
Reply Mon 12 Nov, 2012 09:42 pm
@boomerang,
HFCS free Coke is available in our local stores - sometimes. It is bottled in Mexico, and you can taste the difference. Why the soft drink most identifed around the world as American has to be imported from Mexico is still a mystery to me.
ehBeth
 
  1  
Reply Mon 12 Nov, 2012 09:44 pm
@boomerang,
Haven't you asked some variant of this before? I know we talked about kosher Coke on one of your threads ...
farmerman
 
  2  
Reply Mon 12 Nov, 2012 09:49 pm
@ehBeth,
oh great, shes senile too!!
ehBeth
 
  2  
Reply Mon 12 Nov, 2012 10:01 pm
@farmerman,
it's going around

something in the water at the posting cooler
0 Replies
 
InfraBlue
 
  1  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 12:14 am
@roger,
roger wrote:

HFCS free Coke is available in our local stores - sometimes. It is bottled in Mexico, and you can taste the difference. Why the soft drink most identifed around the world as American has to be imported from Mexico is still a mystery to me.


National identity is irrelevant as to why this soft drink has to be imported from Mexico. It's about economics. Mexico can produce cane sugar much more inexpensively than the US can. If this cane sugar soft drink were to be made in the US its cost would be much higher than the Mexican made product.
roger
 
  1  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 12:31 am
@InfraBlue,
Ya think. It routinely sells for way above the price of American Coke.

I've gotten some interesting reactions when I mentioned I was keeping an eye open for Mexican Coke, by the way.
Mame
 
  3  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 01:23 am
@roger,
If you want Mexican coke, I have a connection in Guatemala.
roger
 
  2  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 01:48 am
@Mame,
I'm not getting into any tri lateral trade agreements. That's what started the Boxer rebellion, which led to the Opium Wars, which eventually cause Chairman Mao to lead a Long March into the Cultural Revolution, and now, Australia is selling all it's resources to China. What are they going to do when the coal runs out?

I wouldn't mind a nice, cold 12 oz bottle of Mexican Coke, though. You know, the real thing. I don't want not part of world war III.
0 Replies
 
tsarstepan
 
  1  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 04:39 am
@boomerang,
boomerang wrote:


Is corn/corn syrup kosher at other times?

There is probably nothing unKosher with corn or corn syrup. The reason certain products aren't Kosher is that they don't have a Rabbi supervising the manufacturing standards at that given food factory.
0 Replies
 
Walter Hinteler
  Selected Answer
 
  4  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 05:40 am
@boomerang,
Normal Coke is kosher for 358 days the year.
However, since it contains corn syrup, it's chametz during passover. Source
farmerman
 
  1  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 05:53 am
@Walter Hinteler,
AHHHH, so it relates to the forbidding of anything leavened at Passover. Well, I got news for the good rabbis, the way that glycerine is made is by reacting the fats with alcohol and a base at temps just below boiling. SO there would NOT be any loss of alcohol traces cause the ethanol is still in there and one would never know where the tracs of alcohol really came from.
0 Replies
 
jespah
 
  3  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 07:13 am
@Walter Hinteler,
Thank you - this is correct.

Note also - it's only Ashkenazim who give a damn about corn during Pesach. Sephardim don't see corn as being chametz (e. g. not kosher for Passover). Sephardic Jews also allow rice and beans during the holiday.
0 Replies
 
boomerang
 
  1  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 07:13 am
@Walter Hinteler,
Thanks, Walter. That explains it.

So the only time you could buy kosher and be sure you're avoiding corn syrup is during Passover.

0 Replies
 
boomerang
 
  2  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 07:23 am
I didn't intend this thread to be about Coke, or really any sodas. I was just wondering if you could look for the word "kosher" on the label and avoid reading the fine print if you wanted to avoid corn syrup. Corn syrup shows up in much more than sodas.

I know I have asked about kosher foods in the past, ehBeth but I don't remember having discussed whether corn is kosher. I just assumed it was and was surprised to learn that it wasn't (BTW -- Coke with yellow caps is made with sugar. Yellow caps is how they identify kosher for Passover Coke).

I was reading about bee colony collapse and how they've tied it to pesticides in the corn syrup bees are provided in the winter. That led to reading about how much pesticide might be ending up in the corn syrup that goes into so much food and drink and how it might effect humans (answer: not much, hardly any). That led to reading more about corn syrup in general and that led to "kosher for Passover".
0 Replies
 
InfraBlue
 
  1  
Reply Tue 13 Nov, 2012 09:31 am
@roger,
roger wrote:
Ya think. It routinely sells for way above the price of American Coke.


Just think how much more expensive an American made sugar cane product would be.
 

Related Topics

Cooking shortcuts - Discussion by chai2
In Defense of Chopped Liver - Discussion by Thomas
Ask the A2K cooks! - Discussion by msolga
Smackdown: Leftovers -- yay or nay? - Question by boomerang
Turkey roasting alternatives? - Question by Banana Breath
Cooking for a single guy - Question by Baldimo
OMG! Now I Know What Crabby Snacks Are - Discussion by hawkeye10
 
  1. Forums
  2. » "Kosher for Passover" v. "Kosher"
Copyright © 2019 MadLab, LLC :: Terms of Service :: Privacy Policy :: Page generated in 0.03 seconds on 12/12/2019 at 08:25:08