Wachovia-Wells Fargo Customers

Reply Tue 1 Jun, 2010 02:23 pm
Does any one know if this email looks legitimate? I feel uneasy about clicking on the link. Thanks for any help!
Reply Tue 1 Jun, 2010 02:24 pm
@Victor Murphy,
I used to get those from other "institutions".

report and delete.

your bank will contact you in a traditional matter if they need to.
0 Replies
Reply Tue 1 Jun, 2010 02:35 pm
@Victor Murphy,
"Your online access have been temporarily suspended...."

It's a fake. I get similar (fake) ones from Bank of America and Chase. There's always at least one spelling or grammar error...dead giveaway. They're getting better at the logos, though.
0 Replies
Reply Tue 1 Jun, 2010 02:47 pm
@Victor Murphy,
Never ever click on a link like that. Banks will tell you to call them, not click on a link.

If you are concerned about the authenticity of it and the security of your account info, pull out one of your old bank statements and call the number printed on the statement. Don't call any numbers except the one on an old statement.

Tell them you want to verify the source of the email and the details contained in it. If there is a problem with your account, they should be able to tell you.

Wells Fargo's security department will probably ask you to forward the email to them. They've requested them from me when I've called to verify scam emails.

Another way to verify it is if you do online banking with them. Any email they send you will also be listed as a new message for you in the inbox on your account summary page after you've logged into their banking website. If there isn't a duplicate there, then the one you received is a fake.
Reply Tue 1 Jun, 2010 03:40 pm
@Victor Murphy,
Hell no do not go there!!!!!!!!!!!

If you wish to check your account go there using your normal bookmark however there is almost no question nothing is wrong with your account someone is dong fishing.

Oh always look when your are logging on banks sites and such that the https lock symbol is display in IE7 it is on right top.
0 Replies
Victor Murphy
Reply Tue 1 Jun, 2010 03:43 pm
Thank you for notifying us of the suspicious email you received. Please
note that this in an automated response and you will not be contacted by
Wachovia unless additional information is needed. Please do not reply to
this message.

Wachovia takes safeguarding your information very seriously and works
with internal investigators and law enforcement agencies to investigate
any possible phishing cases.

If you have not already done so, please delete the suspected fraudulent
email you received and do not open any links within the email. If you
have already responded to this email or any other suspicious email and
provided personal or confidential information, or you suspect fraudulent
activity has occurred, please contact us immediately at 888-647-3648. We
will gladly assist you.

It is Wachovia's policy that we will not ask our customers for personal
or confidential information through email. If you receive an email
appearing to be from Wachovia requesting this type of information, do
not reply or click on any links. Please forward it to
[email protected], and then delete the email from your inbox and
outbox. Do not alter the email or subject line in anyway when sending it
to Wachovia.

To receive information on identity theft, fraud and how to identify
fraudulent emails, visit our Web site at wachovia.com and select
Wachovia Security Plus, or go to wachovia.com/securityplus.
Reply Tue 1 Jun, 2010 03:47 pm
@Victor Murphy,
Good job. If you didn't click on the link then you're okay.
0 Replies
Reply Wed 2 Jun, 2010 10:27 am
Yeah I got one from Wells Fargo about my bank account - I do not have a Wells Fargo bank account - Wells Fargo seems to be a poplular one for fraud - they have on their website where you contact and forward this email to for their investigation.
0 Replies
Reply Wed 2 Jun, 2010 10:33 am
ha ha, suckers, i clicked the link, apparently i'm gonna inherit a billion dollars from an african prince i didn't even know was related to me, i already sent away all my id and credit card information, now i just got wait for the money to roll in

i'ma gonna be a rich man, woo hoo
Reply Wed 2 Jun, 2010 10:48 am
That's weird - I am also related to an African Prince! We may be related.
Victor Murphy
Reply Wed 2 Jun, 2010 11:20 am
Add me to your list of relatives, I got one too! Very Happy
0 Replies

Related Topics

Delivery Status Notification - Question by gollum
E-Mail Etiquette - Discussion by Phoenix32890
Security of E-Mail - Question by gollum
Anonymous E-mail Address - Question by gollum
Un downloadable E Mails on Outlook - Question by GDP100
Addressing of E-Mail - Question by gollum
help in OUTLOOK EXPRESS USEAGE - Question by Ravishankar
"+" is inserted in forwarded text - Question by jddavies
Lotus Notes Mailbox corrupt - Question by elmartorsson
Outlook Emails CORRUPT CONTENT ALERT - Question by gilleschauve
  1. Forums
  2. » Wachovia-Wells Fargo Customers
Copyright © 2021 MadLab, LLC :: Terms of Service :: Privacy Policy :: Page generated in 0.03 seconds on 06/16/2021 at 04:58:15