That is a discussion forum, not unlike A2K or Abuzz.
Here are two other discussions in that forum:
I am a football fan that has a rule related question about the NFL. I hope that this is the right forum to clear up my confusion about a rule. If it isn't, please let me know and I will not bother the members that are posting here. Ok, here is my question: I heard that the goal line of a football field extends out (as an imaginary line) from the out of bound marker so that a player doesn't necessarily have to get the ball to cross the plane of the goal line inside the pylon, and that as long as the player hasn't stepped out of bounds (and is diving in the air, for example) they will have scored a touchdown if the ball crosses the plane of that imaginary goal line that extends out of bounds. But that it is a common misconception among players that the ball has to cross the plane of the goal line inside the pylon, which is why they attempt to reach with the football when they are close to the goal line and are getting forced out of bounds. The source of this information was an announcer to a professional game. Can anyone point me in the direction of the rule book or confirm or deny this rule? Thanks. Loyal Fan.
The NFL doesn't post their rule book on the internet. This is the 1% of the time an announcer was correct on a rule. The plane of the goal line extends upward forever. The goal line extended also has no limits. If the ball carrier hasn't physically touched out-of-bounds, it's a TD when the ball touches the front edge of the plane of the goal line. The pylons on the goal line are considered to be in the EZ.
So you can see that you really cannot rely on the info given there.
I am making a concerted effort to get something definitive.
I know that Jerry Markbreit has written on this issue in a column in one of the Chicago Newspapers, but I am having a terrible time accessing the info.
Soon as I get it I will share.
I have talked to a high school coach about this -- and he is of the opinion that the goal line extends indefintely up above the plane -- and indefinitely along the plane.
He is of the opinion that a ball-carrier in the air would be credited with a touchdown if he carries the ball over the extended goal line even if he is outside the out-of-bounds lines, because he (and the ball) are not officially out-of-bounds until they hit land out of bounds.
But I promise I will try to get a first hand, accessable resolution to this issue.
I sure as hell is interesting.