"Avenue A"?

Reply Mon 6 Sep, 2004 06:44 pm
I installed Spybot Search & Destroy a few weeks ago and have it set to notify me whenever it blocks something malicious.

So far, most of what it catches (dozens of times per day!) is a "Download of Avenue A, Inc."

Avenue A apparently attempts to download to my computer whenever I access a2k and a few other websites--the others seem to be random, but it ALWAYS happens on a2k, sometimes 3-4 times while opening a single page.

What is Avenue A, and how do I keep it from even attempting to download?

I have a firewall and virus blocker/scanner (by computer associates), and I don't have problems with viruses.


General Tsao
  • Topic Stats
  • Top Replies
  • Link to this Topic
Type: Discussion • Score: 1 • Views: 766 • Replies: 3
No top replies

Craven de Kere
Reply Mon 6 Sep, 2004 08:55 pm
"Avenue A" is just an advertising network, and the software is flagging cookies.

Basically the "privacy" issue is that advertisers use cookies to avoid showing you the same ad over and over.

I ignore just about all cookie warnings, they are misleading and a way for software companies to compete by pretending to protect against more "threats".

The cookies are not really a privacy threat, and if you want to block them just use your browser cookie settings.
0 Replies
Reply Mon 6 Sep, 2004 09:25 pm
You can go to www.atlasdmt.com/privacy/opting.asp for an explanation of how the company (Atlas DMT) will allow you to "opt out" of their cookie being placed on your computer by letting them put a "blank" cookie that basically says keep out to any web ads using their service.

But that won't stop the warnings from Spybot, & the Avenue A service is on tons of sites that are ad-driven.

I'd recommend that you just set Spybot to "block all pages silently," tell Spybot to ignore all "Avenue A" cookies, or like previously mentioned just use your browser settings to block cookies.

In comparison to "real" spyware, cookies are mostly harmless.
0 Replies
Reply Tue 7 Sep, 2004 07:40 am
So, the concensus here is that Avenue A will be OK to allow onto my computer? I am getting tired of clicking the Spybot warning box that comes up, but I do like seeing what is being blocked for some reason.

General Tsao
0 Replies

Related Topics

Clone of Micosoft Office - Question by Advocate
Do You Turn Off Your Computer at Night? - Discussion by Phoenix32890
The "Death" of the Computer Mouse - Discussion by Phoenix32890
Windows 10... - Discussion by Region Philbis
Surface Pro 3: What do you think? - Question by neologist
Windows 8 tips thread - Discussion by Wilso
GOOGLE CHROME - Question by Setanta
.Net and Firefox... - Discussion by gungasnake
Hacking a computer and remote access - Discussion by trying2learn
  1. Forums
  2. » "Avenue A"?
Copyright © 2022 MadLab, LLC :: Terms of Service :: Privacy Policy :: Page generated in 0.06 seconds on 09/27/2022 at 09:04:06