Reply Tue 10 Nov, 2015 06:50 pm
Here's one that's always stumped me... why is it on a punt the kicking team catches or touches the ball first on say the 18 yard line and carried or push it back to the 15 yard line the ball is moved back to the 18 yard line but if it's caught or touched down near the end zone say the 2 yard line and it's carried or pushed into the end zone it's moved back to the 20?
  • Topic Stats
  • Top Replies
  • Link to this Topic
Type: Question • Score: 3 • Views: 4,048 • Replies: 5
No top replies

 
maxdancona
 
  1  
Reply Tue 10 Nov, 2015 08:59 pm
@Urbankirk,
If the receiving team catches a punt on the 2 yard line and then carries it back into the end zone, I am pretty sure it is a safety... not a touch back (there is a rule about impetus, but catching the ball is not impetus).

In this case, I think the kicking team gets the ball back.


0 Replies
 
McGentrix
 
  1  
Reply Tue 10 Nov, 2015 10:37 pm
@Urbankirk,
If it is touched by the kicking team in bounds the ball is dead. If the ref calls it a touch back (the ball goes to the 20 yard line) then the kicking team did not make contact with the ball while it was in bounds.

So, while it may look like it was touched, the ref said it wasn't thus a touch back.
Urbankirk
 
  1  
Reply Wed 11 Nov, 2015 11:39 am
@McGentrix,
Yes , but how many times have you seen the kicking team try to down the ball inside the 1 yard line, having possession of the ball then step into the end zone to have it ruled a touch back. Shouldn't the ball be ruled dead ias soon as it;s touched just liked it is at the 18?
McGentrix
 
  2  
Reply Wed 11 Nov, 2015 03:23 pm
@Urbankirk,
Urbankirk wrote:

Yes , but how many times have you seen the kicking team try to down the ball inside the 1 yard line, having possession of the ball then step into the end zone to have it ruled a touch back. Shouldn't the ball be ruled dead ias soon as it;s touched just liked it is at the 18?


ugh, more research...

from wiki

The player attempting to catch the kicked ball may attempt a fair catch. If caught, the ball becomes dead and the receiving team gets the ball at the spot of the catch.

A touchback may be called if the kicked ball enters the receiving team's end zone without first touching any player, whether in flight or on a bounce; or if the receiving team catches the ball in its own end zone and downs it before advancing the ball out of the end zone; or if the ball enters then exits the end zone behind the goal line. The receiving team gets the ball at its own 20-yard line.

If a player from the kicking team is the first to touch the ball after it crosses the line of scrimmage, "illegal touching" is called and the receiving team gains possession at the spot where the illegal touching occurred. This is often not considered to be detrimental to the kicking team; for example, it is common for a player on the kicking team deliberately to make contact with the ball near the goal line before it enters the end zone to prevent a touchback. Since there is no further yardage penalty awarded, the kicking team is often said to have "downed the ball" when this occurs (and the NFL does not count it as an official penalty). While the ball is not automatically dead upon an illegal touch, and can be advanced by the receiving team (who would then have the choice of accepting the result of the play or taking the ball at the spot of the illegal touch), this rarely happens in practice, as illegal touching typically occurs when members of the kicking team are closer to the ball than members of the receiving team.

The length of the punt, referred to as punting yards or gross punting yards, is measured from the line of scrimmage (not the spot where the punter punts) to whichever of the following points applies: (1) the spot that a punt is caught; (2) the spot that a punt goes out of bounds; (3) the spot that a punt is declared dead because of illegal touching; or (4) the goal line, for punts that are ruled touchbacks.

The net punting yardage is taken by calculating the total punting yardage and subtracting any yardage earned by the receiving team on returns, and subtracting 20 yards for each touchback.

To actually down a punt, and I found this interesting and did not know all the details previously, Either team can down a punt after it hits the ground or after one of its players touches the ball past the line of scrimmage. To down the ball, a player must be in possession of the ball, stop his forward movement, and drop to one knee. Such action leads to an official blowing his whistle, signaling the end of action.
0 Replies
 
hemant12
 
  0  
Reply Thu 12 Nov, 2015 11:22 pm
Yes ! i remember the most punts in college football history happened in 1939, The teams combined for an NCAA record 77 Punts, Yes, 77 Punts, 67 Of which came on first down.
0 Replies
 
 

Related Topics

Should cheerleading be a sport? - Discussion by joefromchicago
Are You Ready For Fantasy Baseball - 2009? - Discussion by realjohnboy
tennis grip - Question by madalina
How much faster could Usain Bolt have gone? - Discussion by Robert Gentel
Sochi Olympics a Resounding Success - Discussion by gungasnake
 
  1. Forums
  2. » Punts
Copyright © 2019 MadLab, LLC :: Terms of Service :: Privacy Policy :: Page generated in 0.04 seconds on 10/21/2019 at 12:11:01