Reply																		
							Mon 27 Jan, 2014 10:09 am
						
						
					
					
					
						I have a very basic question about false start.
When watching an NFL game, sometimes I see a guard move his arm significantly  one 'count' before the snap (so I assume he's 'set'), but he's not called for false start.   Is it a false start to make such a move?
					
				 
				
						
														
					
													@RalphBean,
												According to Section 4 Article 2 if the player moves "in such a way as to simulate the start of a play" it is a false start. There are also two other items that are exceptions to Article 2 relative to interior lineman. 
I would assume the the player was judged to have moved in a way that does not simulate the start of a play or the officials just missed it. It is a judgement call on the official.
											
 
					
				 
																									
						
														
					
													@Zarathustra,
												Zarathustra, thanks for the answer.
											
 
					
				 
																
						
														
					
													@RalphBean,
												No problem. There are a LOT of nuanced rule in the NFL. The occasional major blunder on a call just reminds me how good a job these (now) par-timers really do.