I'm waiting for that answer, too.
What I think
is that as soon as the defender runs out of bounds, it disqualifies anything he does as a legitimate action on the play. However, I don't have the defintive ruling. And of course the defnder has to be ruled as out of bounds and caught in the act.
If you go to NFL.com, perhaps the answer can be provided there.
What is not clear to me is what is action the ensues that determines that defender was out of bounds? If a TD results, than mandatorily officials have to review the action of the defender being declared out of bounds first and not just whether the TD occured at all and not jsut whether or not that Edelman did not go out of bounds.