Hungry Hippo...why would you assume that Christianity is the most common religion people can relate to?
I cry bullshit. You picked Christianity, and then went further talking about not hearing Christians loudly giving thanks. If you had wanted to discuss being thankful for food, you might have been more inclusive. I do believe there's a few hindus out there, and a couple of budhists.
I stand by what I said before. No one knows what another is thinking before they take a bite of food, whether it's at the beginning of an evening meal, or even a bite in the middle of the day.
Ingredients of Twinkies
Enriched Wheat Flour - enriched with ferrous sulphate (iron)
B vitamins:
Niacin
Thiamine mononitrate [B1]
Riboflavin [B2] and
Folic acid
Sugar
Corn syrup
Water
High fructose corn syrup
Vegetable and/or animal shortening containing one or more of
Partially hydrogenated soybean
cottonseed or Canola oil
lard and
beef fat
Dextrose
Whole eggs
Contains 2% or less of:
Modified corn starch
Cellulose gum
Whey
Leavenings:
Sodium acid pyrophosphate
Baking soda
Monocalcium phosphate
Salt
Cornstarch
Corn flour
Corn syrup solids
Mono and diglycerides
Soy lecithin
Polysorbate 60
Calcium caseinate
Sodium stearoyl lactylate
Wheat gluten
calcium sulfate
Natural and artificial flavors:
Caramel color
Sorbic acid (to retain freshness)
Color added (yellow 5, red 40)
from what I read, they have replaced the lard (pig fat) with beef fat, so supposedly that makes them kosher
gross.
A vegetarian wouldn't eat a twinkie, so wouldn't give thanks for it, regardless of their beliefs.
Looking at some images of boxes of Twinkies, I didn't see any kosher symbol on them.
Anyway....what is your beef exactly? People giving thanks outloud? Giving them silently, in such a way you wouldn't even know what they are doing?