6
   

Ingredients for coca cola

 
 
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 06:31 am
I am a strict vegetarian, (no meat,fish,eggs,alcohol,smoking etc).
Could you please confirm for all vegetarians, if there are any animal products in the ingredients for cocacola.(soft drink)
 
shewolfnm
 
  0  
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 06:36 am
If you are health conscious, you would not drink coke.


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coca-Cola#Health_effects


who cares if it is a 'vegan' product or not. Just because something does not use animal products does not make it healthy.

Coke scares me Laughing

reading through some of that information on wiki, it has not been known for 'animal products' , it has been banned in places due to its toxicity.

but, no animal products Smile
0 Replies
 
contrex
 
  4  
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 06:39 am
@solidgold,
Quote:
I am pleased to confirm that Coca-Cola does not contain any ingredients of animal origin.


-- from a reply letter by a Coca Cola (UK) employee, answering a letter from a person with the same question as you.

HOWEVER, a US representative wrote this letter:

Quote:
Thank you for contacting The Coca-Cola Company. We certainly
appreciate the opportunity to respond to your inquiry.

The Coca-Cola Company does not conduct any in-house experiments on
animals and, except the products that contain cochineal (which is listed on
the label) and the products that contain milk (which is also indicated
on the label), brands of The Coca-Cola Company in the United States do
not contain any ingredient derived from animals.

However, some of our juice products contain Vitamin D3, which is
derived from lanolin. Lanolin is a natural oil in the fiber of sheep's wool.
It is separated from the wool after the sheep's hair is cut (sheered).
Lanolin oil is obtainable without harming the sheep, but may be an
issue for strict vegetarians.

Additionally, some of our suppliers use a common industry practice for
grape juice clarification that does involve animal by-products. This
practice is becoming increasingly less common as ultra-filtration
systems are gradually replacing the gelatin used in this process. However,
you may be interested to know that because our juices are certified
kosher, the gelatin used to clarify the juice is made from fish.

In the U.S., the only Coca-Cola product that is currently produced with
cochineal is Minute Maid Juices To Go Ruby Red Grapefruit Drink.

The only currently manufactured Coca-Cola brand products that contain
milk are Swerve, Choglit, the Fruitopia Smooth products, SLAPDRINKS, Tey
teas, Minute Maid BeginIt, the Planet Java products, Minute Maid Fruit
and Cream Swirl frozen bars, Barq's Frozen Root Beer & Vanilla Ice
Cream Float, and the Bacardi Mixers premium ice cream.

We hope this information is helpful. Please feel free to contact us
again.

Greg
Industry and Consumer Affairs
The Coca-Cola Company
0 Replies
 
djjd62
 
  0  
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 06:42 am
they should add a little bacon to it


bacon should be a mandatory ingredient in all foods
contrex
 
  1  
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 06:45 am
@solidgold,
Why are not smoking or drinking alcohol part of being "vegetarian"? Tobacco is not made from animals. Neither is alcohol. If you think that "vegetarian" is a synonym for "healthy" (which it is not!) then you should not drink that awful product, Coca-Cola.
djjd62
 
  0  
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 06:47 am
@contrex,
Very Happy

tobacco and alcohol in their purest forms are some of the most vegetarian things going
0 Replies
 
shewolfnm
 
  0  
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 06:49 am
@djjd62,
a man after my own heart.







mmmmmmmmmmmm bacon.
0 Replies
 
shewolfnm
 
  0  
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 06:49 am
@contrex,
contrex wrote:

Why are not smoking or drinking alcohol part of being "vegetarian"? Tobacco is not made from animals. Neither is alcohol. If you think that "vegetarian" is a synonym for "healthy" (which it is not!) then you should not drink that awful product, Coca-Cola.



HA.
I said the same thing.
So quoting it and repeating it is worth it to me.

Im always stunned by what people call healthy in this society.
0 Replies
 
chai2
 
  1  
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 06:58 am
some people are vegetarian not for health reasons primarily (or at all), but because they are opposed to eating animals, or using them in clothing, other products, etc.

I'm just sayin'
0 Replies
 
shewolfnm
 
  0  
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 07:24 am
Yes I know.
Socially acceptable anorexia.

0 Replies
 
Green Witch
 
  1  
Reply Sun 26 Jul, 2009 09:45 am
@solidgold,
The Coca Cola Company is one of the worst polluters in India. Do you care about the human animal? or the planet?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/3096893.stm



Google "Coca Cola pollution" for more details.
0 Replies
 
 

Related Topics

Can the swastika ever be redeemed? - Discussion by izzythepush
Vintage Coke Box..... - Discussion by packers78
vintage coca cola bottle - Question by bettyboop671
vintage bottles - Question by coke cola
White Coke Cans - Question by maxdancona
more on Revelations - Discussion by year2027
 
  1. Forums
  2. » Ingredients for coca cola
Copyright © 2019 MadLab, LLC :: Terms of Service :: Privacy Policy :: Page generated in 0.03 seconds on 10/18/2019 at 01:28:58