0
   

Can a runner "forfeit" forward progress?

 
 
Reply Mon 17 Oct, 2022 02:31 am
If a ball carrier (in this case a quarterback) becomes a runner and gains yardage to a certain point and then, in an attempt to gain more yardage, he gives up a few yards circling around defenders but he ends up sliding (giving himself up) at a less advanced point that he once was, is the ball spotted where he went down or at the point where he had, at one time, advanced the farthest?
 
Real Music
 
  3  
Reply Mon 17 Oct, 2022 03:48 am
@NFL Hawk Fan,
1. My understanding is: If the referee has determined that the runner's forward progress has been stopped, the referee will blow the whistle to end the play.

2. Once the whistle has blown the play dead, the attempt to run in circles to try and get more yards won't matter, because the play is already over.

3. If the referee had not made the determination that the runner's forward progress had been stopped, then the runner does not get the benefit of forward progress.

4. If the referee had not made the determination that the runner's forward progress had been stopped, the runner can lose or gain yardage afterward.

5. This is my understanding of that rule.
0 Replies
 
 

 
  1. Forums
  2. » Can a runner "forfeit" forward progress?
Copyright © 2025 MadLab, LLC :: Terms of Service :: Privacy Policy :: Page generated in 0.03 seconds on 07/12/2025 at 11:10:22