Reply
Sun 7 Jan, 2018 01:36 pm
Why is spiking a football from the quarterback NOT considered intentional grounding? There is no receiver.....
Thank you.
@maxdancona,
Quote:Item 3. Stopping Clock. A player under center is permitted to stop the game clock legally to save time if, immediately upon receiving the snap, he begins a continuous throwing motion and throws the ball directly into the ground.
I think this answers the question better.
https://operations.nfl.com/the-rules/nfl-video-rulebook/intentional-grounding/