Reply
Wed 15 Nov, 2017 01:26 pm
Here is the scenario (I hope someone can help):
Bills/Saints - Bills have the ball and a 2nd and 12
Pass completed for 30 yards - at end of run (YAC) there was a hold. that is a spot foul and far enough beyond the 1st down that even with penalty the result of play would be a 1st down (and close to a 20 yard gain)
Roughing the passer called on Saints (same play)
RESULT - Offsetting penalties and 2nd and 12 is replayed...
Question...could the Bills have declined the roughing the passer call making the only penalty against them so they would gain those 20 yards and a 1st down?
Does a rule prevent them from declining that penalty? In that scenario the roughing the passer call actually helped the team it was called on
The penalties offset each other so they're both nullified, hence, there is nothing to decline for either team.