The subject of the original post is to have something on your wall or timeline that is available to others, but is not spammed into all your friends news feeds. For example, I want to put an photo album on my wall/timeline, but do not want the photos shown in my friends news feeds. I believe it cannot be done! If you restrict access then it doesn't get spammed, but it is also not available! If you delete the pictures it in your news feed, it does NOT delete it in your friends news feeds (tested july 2012). The only workaround may be to restrict the content and then release it (unrestrict it) many days later so that it will at least be buried along old posts in their news feeds. Also stupid friending messages also seem to be spammed to all the friends and there seems to be currently no way to turn it off.