0
   

Stupid question re: "contact me" on personal website.

 
 
Reply Fri 3 Oct, 2008 05:22 pm
This is probably a really, really stupid question so let me apologize right off the bat. If it wasn't making me scratch my head I'd just forget it.

I have a website for my photography that has a "contact me" page so that people can write for a session, additional information.

Today I get a message from someone that (kinda) says:

From: nunu
At: nunu-nunu@nunu.nunu
Text: nunu-nunu

I am really puzzled about why someone would take the time to do that.

The site that I use forwards all of the messages to my personal email. Is there some way that someone could get my personal email info from writing to me from there? Or what?

It was just kind of creepy.

Thanks!
 
  1  
Reply Fri 3 Oct, 2008 05:38 pm
Highly doubtful if you simply delete it without opening.

(I am not an expert, as you know...)
0 Replies
 
View Profile sozobe
 
  1  
Reply Fri 3 Oct, 2008 06:50 pm
I think it's just spam... maybe a bot or something.

If there are any links, don't click on 'em. If there are any attachments, don't open 'em.

Other than that I don't THINK you have a lot to worry about... but I'll defer to experts there.
0 Replies
 
  1  
Reply Fri 3 Oct, 2008 07:02 pm
Okay then. I'll quit worrying about it until I hear any different.

There weren't any links or anything. It was just so weird.

I haven't been promoting my work much lately because things have been a little nutty in other areas that required attention. Mo's class requested a baby photo for something recently and the photo I sent of Mo did attract quite a bit of unexpected attention. The odd message today just had kind of a yuck factor that I don't normally deal with in similar correspondance.
0 Replies
 
  1  
Reply Fri 3 Oct, 2008 07:34 pm
If the contact us page uses a form that is submitted to send the email it's probably a bot probing the forms to find ones that can be exploited to send spam.
  1  
Reply Fri 3 Oct, 2008 07:53 pm
Okay.

How to I prevent being exploited?
  1  
Reply Fri 3 Oct, 2008 08:02 pm
Correct me if I'm wrong, but unless you coded the form I don't think you'd understand what I would tell you.

For example, here's one guy's solution to mail header injection exploits:

http://www.alt-php-faq.org/local/115/
  1  
Reply Fri 3 Oct, 2008 08:09 pm
No. Sad to say but you are right. I am totally not going to get it.

I guess I'll just cross my fingers, throw the salt over my shoulder and hold my dominion.
  1  
Reply Fri 3 Oct, 2008 08:18 pm
Well I presume someone else (mo' geeky) is responsible for your website right?
0 Replies
 
 

Related Topics

Conficker worm - Discussion by msolga
Computer Security / Legal Question - Question by majikal
How secure are online purchases? - Question by littlek
software - Question by shahid
Virus Protection - Question by gollum
Apologies for Spam Emails - Discussion by littlek
spyware/virus question - Question by lovejoy
Yahoo Mail Security - Question by Pitter
Computer security question - Question by Roberta
 
  1. able2know
  2. » Stupid question re: "contact me" on personal website.
Copyright © 2009 Horizontal Verticals :: Page generated in 0.33 seconds on 11/23/2009 at 01:43:53 Top End